Ever the Optimist

I’m going to gush a little more about the TMCC Writers’ Conference yesterday. (Like I said, there was just so much! It might be coming out of my brain and finding its way here a lot in the near future.)

David Stipech opened the conference with “Keep Writing, Keep Working, Keep Going!” I’ll be honest, when I read that title, I thought those three are all the same things. But David differentiated. “Keep Writing” is pretty self-explanatory, but “Keep Working” is more specific to working on getting published.

And “Keep Going” is all about perseverance. It reminded me of a Bible scripture, believe it or not. James 1:2&3 “Consider it pure joy, my [sisters], whenever you face trials of any kind, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.” I’m not very religious (anymore), but this scripture has always had a nice ring to it for me. Maybe it’s my annoying tendency to be optimistic. It’s like the scripture that says that God works for the good of those who love God. Bad things can’t always be bad. There’s always something good that comes from them. If nothing else, perseverance.

So maybe I’ve gotten some responses from agents saying that my novel isn’t what they’re looking for. But that’s only testing my faith that my novel is worth representation, and as long as I hold firm to that faith with perseverance, it’ll pay off.

I know, ever the optimist. Annoying, right?   : P

Leave a Reply

