Time for a Break?

I made it through the rewrite.

Somehow, I made it through.

Didn’t know how much it’d take,

How much work I’d dooo…

 

It’s December. I spent the last month poring over Finding ‘Ohana, trying to get my newest draft edited and posted. There were many times when I did not think I would get through my book before the end of National Novel-Writing Month. But I did it. Somehow, I made it through the rewrite. And I am pooped.

I’m going to spend a little time focusing my writing on something else, work on my other novels I want to write, or maybe some short stories. But I’m also going to get Finding ‘Ohana in a final draft state before the end of this month, which won’t be nearly as stressful as the bulk of work I had last month. Then I’ll have a new New Year’s resolution: getting Finding ‘Ohana published.

My die-hard fans out there know that this is similar to my resolution from last year. Or, rather, it’s the same as the one last year. For my soon-to-be-die-hard fans, here’s a little background:

 

New Year’s resolution, January 2011 – to write more. Simple, yes, but also doable. This was my first real New Year’s resolution. Before, I’d never had something that I was truly dedicated to accomplishing.

I started out my working on my short stories. But that’s not all. 2011 was the year that I wrote an entire novel in twelve weeks. That summer was the bane of my existence for  a while. But it also proved that beautiful accomplishments are worth the pain.

 

New Year’s resolution, January 2012 – to get Finding ‘Ohana published. Some things just don’t change. About this time last year, I was struggling to finish my latest round of edits before the end of December, so that I could dedicate 2012 to becoming a published author.

No, I’m not a published author yet, but I’m also not discouraged. As far as I’m concerned, my resolution for 2012 was a success.

I went to a writer’s conference in April and got some great advice. I met agents and marketing experts who inspired me to start this blog, which I have greatly enjoyed keeping.

I sent query letters to over fifty literary agents, and a few of them even requested more of my novel, if not the complete manuscript. Those few eventually decided against representing me, but they gave me some amazing critiques, which has led me to rewriting Finding ‘Ohana into a much stronger and more substantial novel.

 

That brings me to now. I am more confident than ever that Finding ‘Ohana will make its way to bookshelves everywhere. So I am going to make my final adjustments and ring in the new year with new hope. You will see my name in print yet.

Leave a Reply

