Gettin’ Published!

I am so excited right now that I hardly know what to do with myself!

If the best thing that could happen to me as a writer would be to get Finding ‘Ohana published, I’d say that the second-best thing that could happen to me as a writer is happening!!! A short story of mine, Pyramid, is getting published!

Pyramid

Last week I read a blog post (I wish I had saved the link so I could credit the writer) that pointed out that I can’t get published if I don’t submit.

Yes, this seems like common sense, but still.

I knew that having previous publications can spice up a query letter, and so far all of my publications were on my college campus. Well, those looked good in a query letter, but I knew that the submitting pool was small and local. I realized that if I’m going to commit to getting Finding ‘Ohana published, I need to send in my short stories to get published first.

So I sent one of my favorite polished short stories to three literary arts journals. I sent all three submissions last Thursday, expecting to hear back after a month or two.

And today I got a response from the first journal I submitted to, asking to publish my story! They even referred to it as “poignant,” which is one word I would most like to hear as describing my work!

You can read a synopsis of Pyramid, right here on Sierra Dawn, Write On. Get pumped for the entire story to be out in a couple months!

My New Year’s resolution is already off to a great start, and it’s not even Christmas yet!

Today, short fiction publication; tomorrow, novel publication!

HappyNewYear

Leave a Reply

