How do I go on?

As often happens for me, today I read something that happened to correlate with my own life. This is what writing, and all art, is for. To connect people. Anna Kristell wrote The Road to her Heart (sequel to Crossroad to Love), and I read it, and a couple short paragraphs affected me. That’s what art is all about. That’s why I write – so I can affect others, hopefully for the better. We’re all connected, and art shows us how.

This excerpt takes place a few days after Cara, five months into her marriage and six weeks into her first pregnancy, becomes a widow. She seeks comfort from Katy, a woman about twenty years her senior, who experienced a similar situation ten years ago when her own first husband and their daughter died in a car accident.

 

Cara leaned her head on Katy’s shoulder and said, “What am I supposed to do now? How did you do it? How did you go on?”

Katy sighed as tears rolled down her cheeks. “You cry, you scream, you curse, and afterward, you pick yourself up, dust yourself off and, somehow, find the strength to go on. You still have your whole life ahead of you, even though it doesn’t seem like it right now. I spent many years wondering what might have been. But I finally reached a point when I realized it wasn’t meant to be. That’s when I knew it was time to move on.”

“And now you’re happy again.”

“I am, sweetheart. It doesn’t mean I love Bill or Bree any less. It just means that I’ve gone on with my life. I wasn’t in the car crash and there must have been a reason for that. I was meant to be here for [my son,] Alex, and to meet Ryan [my new husband]. That’s what life had planned for me. Just like someday there will be something out there for you. We don’t know when or how or who… but it’s waiting for you, when the time is right.”

 

Someday, there will be something out there for you. We don’t know when or how or who… but it’s waiting for you, when the time is right.

Your job is to have faith that the right time is coming. Your job is to get through this time of your life, as hard as it may be, so you can make it to that time.

Leave a Reply

