Happy LGBT Pride Month!

If you haven’t heard yet, June is now officially LGBT Pride Month.

As I was reading the proclamation, something occurred to me. (I’ve already posted about this on my personal Facebook page, but I thought I’d make an official statement as an LGBT author too.)

I tend to feel outside the LGBT movement. Honestly, I tend to feel like an outsider in general. But when it comes to gay rights activism, it’s especially apparent. I’m a woman married to a man. My husband and I have a baby together. On more than one occasion, I’ve been asked if I’m an Ally. (The answer is, of course, yes. There’s just more to it than that.) My husband is heterosexual. But I am not.

This is my son and I at a recent gay marriage march. (My husband took the photo.) Our little one kept clapping whenever the crowd did! Hooray for marriage equality!

This is my son and I at a recent gay marriage march. (My husband took the photo.) Our little one kept clapping whenever the crowd did! Hooray for marriage equality!

My husband (then boyfriend) was the first person I told when I realized that I’m bisexual. And he has never given me anything less than 100% love and support. I know how lucky I am to have that. When I’m with him and our son, it’s one of the few times I do not feel the least bit like an outsider.

My lifestyle means that I do not face the same level of discrimination that many other LGBT individuals face. And because of that I can sometimes feel like an impostor. Like my struggle is less real than theirs.

But as I was reading the President’s proclamation, the “B” in LGBT stood out especially bright and I realized: He’s talking about me. Not only my friends and family and acquaintances. Me.

 

“During Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Pride Month, we celebrate the proud legacy LGBT individuals have woven into the fabric of our Nation, we honor those who have fought to perfect our Union, and we continue our work to build a society where every child grows up knowing that their country supports them, is proud of them, and has a place for them exactly as they are.”

All I can say to that is, thank you.

Leave a Reply

